February 28, 2024

President Weah Promotes Several AFL to different Ranks

Monrovia, Release – President George Manneh Weah, on Monday, February 20, 2023, the AFL’s commander-in-chief, promoted a number of AFL members to different senior ranks, including Major, Captain, and 2nd Lieutenant. Tarnue W. Woheel, Zoe J. Parwon, Edwin Samowar, and Albertha J.N. Clarke are among those who have been elevated within the AFL to the various ranks of Major. President Weah elevated Reuben Benedict, Leon J.S. Snorton, Lewis Johnson, Robin Vaye, and Barnard G. Barqoui to the position of Captain.

Krubo K. Kaazaku, Aaron K. Massaquoi, Emmanuella P. Tarr, Siafa F. Siryon, Jr., Rebecca Freeman, Krubo G. Zayzay, Alpha Fofana, Jr., Gbernee P.V. Pearl, Doris L. Sannoh, and Alfreda Poquee are also elevated by the President to the rank of 2nd Lieutenant. Another list of names includes David P. Gbormelee, Nanu S.K. Welleh, Koiyan M. Keleko, David P. Nawa, Grant Yarmie, Sumo A.W. Harris, Jr., James B. Dahn, Joyce Williams, Malaytaye J. Waymah, Joseph P. Lincoln, Nathaniel B. Davis, Jr., Macee K. Zonie, Anderson P. Sharmos, and Philip N. Karpeh, Jr.

According to the Executive Mansion, the officers were nominated by President Weah on February 20, 2023, in keeping with Section 7.10 of the new Defense Act of 2008 and Article 54 of the 1986 Constitution which grants the President powers to nominate, and with the consent of the Senate, appoint and commission members of the AFL from the Rank of Lieutenant or its equivalent and above.

The officers were subsequently approved by the Honorable Liberian Senate on February 22, 2023. On February 24, 2023, it is expected that the officers will be commissioned at a festive event.

About Author