September 25, 2023

Pres. Weah Accepts Several Gov’t Officials Resignations

In order to run for political office in the upcoming elections on October 10, various government officials in Liberia have submitted their resignation to the President, George Manneh Weah. Executive Order #117, issued by President Weah March 7, 2023, requires appointed government officials in Liberia who choose to run for office in the impending October 10, 2023, Presidential and Legislative Elections to submit their resignations no later than April 7, 2023.

Mayor of Bopolu City Mr. Zinnah Norman, Board Member of the Liberia Water & Sewer Corporation Ms. Kebbeh Forpka Collins, Inspector General of the Ministry of Commerce Ms. Josephine W.A. Davies, Assistant Superintendent of Sinoe County Ms. Barbara M. Keah, Assistant Statutory District Superintendent for Development Mr. Edwin K. Korpolu, Assistant Statutory District Superintendent for Development, Gbarpolu County, and Deputy Minister Mr. Lance K. Along with Mr. William V. Dakel, Mr. Charles K. Bardyl, Mr. Duanna Kamara, Mr. Moses Y. Kollie, Director General of the Liberia Civil Aviation Authority, Mr. Myer M. Beteah, Deputy Managing Director, National Transit Authority, and Mr. Anthony J. Quiwonkpa, Deputy Minister of State Without Portfolio, also submitted letters of resignation to the President.

Mr. William T. Thompson, II, Assistant Minister for Energy, Ministry of Mines and Energy; Mr. William K. Saryon, Assistant Minister for Industry, Ministry of Commerce; Madam Ruth Sawmadal, Assistant Minister for Administration, Ministry of Internal Affairs; Mr. Eric Vaye, Assistant Superintendent for Fiscal Affairs, Montserrado County; Madam Betty Breeze Doh, Assistant Superintendent for Development, Grand Gedeh County; and Madam Ruth Sawmadal, Assistant Minister for Administration, Ministry of Internal Affairs; also submitted their letter of resignation to president.

Meanwhile, President George Manneh Weah has made a number of nominations to the government that will affect the National Port Authority (NPA), Public Procurement Concession Commission, and Liberia Water and Sewer Corporation. The nominations, announced by the Chief Executive on April 11, 2023, are effective right away, but they may need to be confirmed by the Senate where possible.

President Weah nominated former Grand Gedeh Senator G. Alohonso Gaye, Managing Director of the Liberia Water and Sewer Corporation as well as Commissioners of the PPCC that include Bodger Scott Johnson, Chairman; Madam Mardia Jallah, Co-Chair; Mr. Roosevelt Woods; Mr. Robert Clarke, and Mr. Matthew Kantah. Meanwhile, the President has named Mr. Stephen Young as Officer-in-Charge of the Public Procurement and Concession Commission (PPCC) until nominated commissioners are confirmed.

The President proposed Buster P. Younis, Prescilla Sieh Weah, Zadye Shelton Gonkerwon, Charlotte H. Davies, Mary Quita Johnson, Emily Abiose Marsh-Askie, Alphonso Dean, and Rev. Joseph N.D. Bannah to serve as members of the National Port Authority’s (NPA) newly established Board.

Rev. Varnie Yarwoo, Madams Noratus Howard Afabor, Mariah Y. Bonkuo, and Margaret M. Kieh are the people the president chose to be on the board of the Liberia Water and Sewer Corporation (LWSC).

About Author