February 25, 2024

2023 General Elections: Independent and Opposition Take Lead in Senatorial Provisional Results

Monrovia, Liberia – As per NEC’s report, Independent Candidate Adama S. Dorley is leading the Bomi County Senate race with 3,652 votes, or 38.76% of the total. His opponents are incumbent Morris G. Saytumah with 1,174 votes (12.46%) and former House Speaker Alex Jenekai Tyler with 3,540 votes (37.57%).

In the race for a third nine-year term in Nimba County, incumbent Senator Prince Yormie Johnson of the MDR leads Nya D. Twayen, Jr., IND, with 7,775 votes, or 35.81 percent, with 9,036 votes, or 41.62% of the votes so far. And Roland G. Duo of the CDC came in third with 2,367 votes or 10.9%.

In Bong County, Rep. Edward W. Karfiah of the People’s Unification Party (PUP) is trailing with 4,294 votes (28.87%), independent candidate Johnny K. Kpehe leads with 7,169 votes (48.19% of the total), and former superintendent Ranney B. Jackson is third with 866 votes (5.82%).

Lofa County: Momo T. Cyrus, an independent candidate who is a businessman turned politician, is leading with 3,512 votes, or 48.64%. With 1,627 votes (22.53%), former Representative Moses Y. Kollie, CDC, came in second, and the incumbent Senator Stephen J.H. Zargo received 658 votes, or 9.11%.

Paul K. Kennedy of the Liberian National Union (LINU) is leading the Gbarpolu County contest with 3,203 votes, or 26.07%. Following him with 2,839 votes (23.11%) is the former Finance Minister Amara Mohammed Konneh, and Alfred G. Koiwood, the current Gbarpolu District #1 Representative for the ruling CDC, with 2,129 votes (17.33%).

Grand Bassa County: With 3,646 votes, or 46.78% of the total counted, former foreign minister Gbehzohngar Findley leads. Superintendent Janjay Baikpeh of the CDC is next with 2,561 votes (32.86%), while incumbent senator Jonathan L. Kaipay is last with 721 votes (9.25%).

With 16,472 votes (56.73%), CDC senator Saah Hardy Joseph is now leading in Montserrado County. Following him are Victoria Torlo Koiquah of the CPP with 1,922 votes (6.62%) and Wilmot J.M. Paye of the UP with 7,479 votes (25.76%).

In Rivercess County, the CDC’s Bill Teah Twehway leads with 2,613 votes (48.2%), followed by the CPP’s Gabriel B. Smith with 1,315 votes (24.26%), and the incumbent NDC’s Francis S. Paye with 780 votes (14.39%).

Senate Protem Pore in Grand Kru County With 996 votes, or 84.19% of the total counted, Albert Tugbe Chie has a clear lead over Vincent Toe Doe of the CPP, who is trailing with 187 votes (15.81%).

About Author